Keychain #19: Golden abacus from China Town, Manila, Philippines

Eventhough I’m studying in Manila, I haven’t seen most of its landmarks yet. Fortunately I had a Creative Writing class last semester which prompted me to write a travel essay. I’ve got limited budget that time so I just went to Manila China Town as suggested by my professor.

China and the Philippines have close economic relations since time immemorial that their cultures sort of emerged, one influencing the other in lifestyles and beliefs. The Manila China Town is the oldest in the world. It was established in the 1590’s.

Here are the famous attractions, all of which I was able to visit: http://chinatown.islandsphilippines.com/places.php

Anywhere in Manila, you’ll find Chinese stores selling lucky charms. The most famous as observed would be the golden Buddha and the golden cat which are believed to attract good fortune. Most Filipinos also subscribe to fengshui.

For a souvenir, I bought this nice abacus keychain. It comes with lucky rites performed by the saleslady, you know. *wink*

Leave a Reply

