PC #176-178: Cards from Russia

I did a private swap with Olya of Russia. She’s collecting coins with holes in the middle. The smallest denomination of the Philippine peso, the 5-centavo coin, looks like this:

It’s made of copper and steel with a 4.4mm central hole. I sent three 5-centavo coins (limang sentimo) and in turn, she sent me three Russian cards in an envelope. The envelope was kinda wet and not in good condition when I found it in my mailbox. But I’m very thankful still that the cards are safe and were able to reach me.

So here’s the first card. It’s a painting entitled Guga-Chokhan (1931) by Russian painter Nickolay Roerich (1874-1947), Olya’s favorite artist. Olya shared with me some useful information about the artist:

He said he travelled to Shambala, a sacred country located near Tibet and saw spirits there and later drew them. We have asteroid named in his honor. When our cosmonauts first flew to space in 60s, people asked them what space is like and they said that feeling of space is similar to feeling from Roerich’s pictures.

The Guga Chokhan is the keeper of the Kullu valley (located in India).

Guga-Chokhan by N.K. Roerich. Tempera on canvas. 73.5x117.

Olya also mentioned about the museum in Moscow with a beautiful blue crystal in the entrance that contains Roerich’s pictures and documents from his ethnographic expeditions.

The second card also has something to do with art. It’s a picture painted by Russian landscape painter Alexey Savrasov (1830-1897). It is located in Russia’s main state museum of classical art. I can’t find this painting in the Internet so i have no idea on it’s title. But I do believe it has something to do with winter?

Anyways, Olya wrote:

This man is famous for pictures of Russian nature, which are very realistic and carry rational feel.

Oh, I remember the last card sent to me by Alina, the painting by Shishkin. It’s so realistic as well. Hm.. I’m getting interested with Russian art, as I’m really in favor of realism, and impressionism as well. *wink*

Olya said she never liked Savrasov, but not this particular painting as it gives her a sense of fresh air. Hmmm……

.Alexey Savarasov.

The last card is very interesting. It’s the biggest church in Moscow, says Olya, the Cathedral of Christ the Saviour.

10,000 people can enter it at the same time! It looks very good in winter because it is lightened by powerful projectors.

Actually, it’s the tallest Orthodox Church with a height of 344 feet. Haha, Olya made me smile. She said the Church is enormously rich and might have gotten the wealth illegally. All of a sudden I remembered my professor who said that the Church is nothing but an income-generating institution.

Well, the Church needs money to continuously operate. It doesn’t revolve around money of course, but money helps them in carrying out their projects. I do believe people of the Church do not depend on materials riches but on spiritual maturity. If someone from the Church is enormously rich, then, something’s wrong.

The Cathedral of Christ the Saviour

Too bad the stamps were badly damaged. But thanks for the cards still, Olya! I love them all. ♥

Leave a Reply

