PC #272: The Trumpeter Swan from Ontario – Canada

Yay, classes are suspended today because of the nonstop rain. ‘Course I’m thankful because really, I need some time off. So thank you, God! I just hope the rest of the Philippines is okay. Wee, cozy cozy. Before I completely forget who I am, (that is, going back to the teaching stuff), let me blog about some of the cards I got today. Starting with this cute family of swan from Ms Willa:

The Trumpeter Swan

The card contains a really nice description, thus saving me a lot of time, thank goodness. So I quote, “The Trumpeter Swan (Cygnus buccinator) was named for its soft, trumpet-like honk. Once abundant throughout most of North America, it disappeared from Eastern Canada early in the 20th century due to a combination of habitat destruction and hunting. Through conservation efforts the Ontario population has reached 1000. It is the largest native North American bird: adult trumpeters can have a wingspan of up to 3 meters, and can weigh up 38 lbs. Their usually dense layer of down make them almost impervious to the cold.”

Aw.. trumpet-like, eh? Pfft.. pffttt.. ft. (I remember myself trying to play the flute when I was a youngster.) But anyways, this card is really beautiful, especially that the swans glide into the water as a FAMILY. Thanks, Ms. Willa!

Ho-ho, a white bear for a stamp. Cute Hello Kitty stickers, too!

Leave a Reply

