Keychain #22: Dr. Jose Rizal @ 150

Okay, so I’m posting this very late, thanks to my being a workaholic. Yep, I just suffered from a terrible, terrible fever, emotionally and physically. And I still have this very unwanted sore throat. In short, I’ve been sick. -__- Good thing classes are suspended again today in NCR coz of Storms Kabayan and Lando, the 11th and 12th storms out of the expected 20 to devastate us this year.

June 19, 1861 when Pepe (Jose Rizal) was born in Calamba, Laguna. I’m from Binan, Laguna where he studied at 8. Let me share a nice quote from him,” “In the moonlight, I remembered my home town, my idolized mother, and my solicitous sisters. Ah, how sweet to me was Calamba, my own town, in spite of the fact that was not as wealthy as Biñan.”

Jose Rizal is known to be a genius, practicing several professions in fields such as opthalmology, science, education, architecture, agriculture, history, arts, sports, and writing. He wrote many poems and two outstanding novels, the Noli Me Tangere and the El Filibusterismo. He traveled to a lot of places in Europe, America and Asia and he can speak several languages. In fact, he was said to master 22 languages including Arabic, Catalan, Chinese, English, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Malayan, Portuguese, Russian, Sanskrit, Spanish, Tagalog, and other native dialects. So yes, indeed a genius. But those very talents led him to his death at a tender age of 35 on December 30, 1896. He was shot by the Spaniards in Bagumbayan/Luneta Park.

Last June, he had his 150th birthday. And to commemorate the joyous occasion, I bought several Jose Rizal stamps plus this nice key chain from Kultura.

"Idol ko si Rizal"

It says “Idol ko si Rizal” (Rizal is my idol.) Have a closer look:

Leave a Reply

