PC #342: An art card from the USA

Oh my, this card is so cute!! It’s from Eileen (Emk), who thoughtfully wrote a nice poem at the back of the card:

Wild Geese by Mary Oliver

You do not have to be good

You do not have to walk on your knees

For a hundred miles through the desert repenting.

You only have to let the soft animal of your body

love what it loves

Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine

Meanwhile the world goes on.

Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain

are moving across the landscapes

over the prairies and the deep trees

Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean air

are heading home again.

Whoever you are, no matter how lonely

the world offers itself to your imagination,

calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting–

over and over announcing your place

in the family of things.

Well, I am not a wild geese. My family is the Church. And I am ever welcoming to those who wants to find their places in this vast world.  I don’t see seeking for God or asking for God’s forgiveness as “pointless”, and besides, heeding to my body’s desire would bring chaos to the world, not a sense of belongingness. Because on Earth, things are interrelated. Lol, perhaps I’m overreading the poem. But nice one. *hehe*

Wonderful stamps used:

Leave a Reply

