PC #359: Kinabalu Park – Malaysia

A beautiful view for nature lovers like me. Mount Kinabalu was considered the tallest peak in Southeast Asia… but recently, I’ve read two articles saying Mount Kinabalu is actually the fifth, not the first, tallest peak in SEA. The tallest peak would be Hkakabo Razi (5881m) in Burma, followed by Puncak Jaya (5030m), Trikora (4751m) and Mandala (4701m) — all in Indonesia. And then Mount Kinabalu (4094m). Nevertheless, this UNESCO site boasts “over 4500 species of plants, 326 species of birds, and 100 mammalian species.” (Wikipedia) And I guess it doesn’t matter the height of the mountain, but how the people preserve the natural beauty and ecosystem residing in an ecological region such as Mount Kinabalu.

Many thanks to my friend Aileen for sharing Malaysia’s first World Heritage site. It was proclaimed so in 2000.

Mount Kinabalu

Beautiful stamps of rambutan (a tropical fruit, yay) and Lada hitam:

Two weeks to go and my practicum will come to a halt! OMG, I’ll surely miss the kids, but I’m 101% excited to see what life has in store for me 🙂

Leave a comment